Jerky Facts

Is Beef Jerky Gluten Free? Everything You Need to Know

Piles of Beef Jerky and Beef Sticks

Beef jerky in its simplest form is cooked and dehydrated meat. With no added ingredients, beef jerky is naturally gluten free. Most beef jerky, however, contains added ingredients such as seasoning, liquids, and flavorings. Some of those ingredients could contain gluten. 

Is all beef jerky gluten free?

The answer is no.

It’s important to check the label on all packaging to determine if an ingredient that contains gluten has been added to the beef jerky. In the United States, all companies are required by law to declare when a product contains wheat. You can check the ingredient list on the package to see if beef jerky contains gluten.

 Common Ingredients with No Gluten
Common Ingredients with Gluten


Soy Sauce

Black Pepper

Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

Garlic Powder

Onion Powder

Chile Flakes

Lemon Juice



Worcestershire Sauce

The most common source of gluten in beef jerky is soy sauce.

This fermented soy bean liquid is a very common ingredient in beef jerky marinades, added for its savory flavor profile. A gluten-free alternative to soy sauce is tamari which does contain any gluten. If you see soy sauce on the label, you know that the beef jerky is not gluten free.

Teriyaki beef jerky commonly contains soy sauce and as such is not gluten-free.

What beef jerky is gluten free?

Gluten-Free Simple and Savory Beef Jerky Box

At People’s Choice Beef Jerky, we understand the challenge and necessity of following a strict gluten-free diet, so we offer a wide range of gluten free jerky options. We believe beef jerky is a great gluten free snack and can be a great option for people avoiding gluten.

Our beef jerky is made in a USDA-inspected facility that follows the strictest of food safety standards. We maintain complete separation between any product that contains gluten and products that are gluten free. 

You can shop our gluten-free beef jerky with 100% confidence. 

Shop Gluten Free Beef Jerky